Zoe’s Backpack

Durham Academy’s summer reading for rising 6th graders include the book “Finding Someplace” by Denise Lewis Patrick. It’s a book about a girl who lived through Hurricane Katrina. In one scene, she had to pack for a trip away from her home. Reesie was aware that she can only bring what she could fit in a backpack, and that she needs to bring all the things she needs to survive. She packed things that she thought were most important for her and her family. 

If I was ever in Reesie’s shoes, here are the things I would take in my backpack. I’ll bring dad’s wallet, so we would still have money to salvage what we’ve lost. My phone, for communication to the outside world and for me to watch TikTok’s to make myself feel better. My water bottle and some food, because grocery stores are probably not accessible in a flood. Our house key, in case our house isn’t extremely damaged and we need to return home. Passports and our IDs, because they’re proof of my identity. I’d also try my best to find Athena, my dog, because I love her. Realistically though, I probably wouldn’t be calm enough to check them off a list. However, Reesie didn’t panic and tried her best. Plus, the fact that she didn’t have a breakdown is amazing. So hopefully if I was ever in a calamity, I could be like her. 

One thought on “Zoe’s Backpack

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *